The Voice of Europe: 1 in 4

On September 13, Lucian Vâlsan, James Huff, Huffnágel Pista and whoever shall call in will be talking about lies, damn lies and statistics that are permeating our culture and that have now been adopted by the EU is gospel for policy making.

We will tackle the “1 in 4” statistical lie in particular since “1 in 4” is now basically a meme to which not-so-well intended policy makers and advocates are attaching whatever cause or “fact” can be fitted – and those “causes” are usually about women because women is the only demographic that our society and our feminist culture cares about.

1 in 4 women dies from a heart disease (not true, but catchy – despite the fact that the actual figure is anyway significantly smaller than the one for men), 1 in 4 teen girls have an STI or 1 in 4 women and adolescent girls (really?) suffer from something called “vulvodynia” – which is a term that not even those raised in the medical field have never heard. These kinds of “statistics” are not only damn lies but some of them have already proven to be deadly dangerous (particularly the 1 in 4 lies related to cancer figures that have driven funding away from the necessities and towards ideological goals).

We will dissect all those lies, as well as present some real 1 in 4 figures and hopefully have some fun in the meantime.

The subject is tricky so please join us and call in at (001) 310 388 9709, or Skype in, after the news. If you have a 1 in 4 lie (or 1 in 3, or any other sensationalist “figure”) tell us about it. Let’s promote healthy skepticism to the “statistics” that pop up from various dubious places.

The show will commence at 7 PM GMT (London, Reykjavik and Lisbon time).

That is 8 PM CET (Madrid, Paris, Brussels, Rome, Oslo, Stockholm, Copenhagen, Budapest, Berlin, Vienna, Warsaw, Amsterdam, Bern, Bratislava, Prague, Belgrade, Tirana, Ljubljana, Zagreb, Sarajevo and Skopje time)

That is 9 PM EET (Helsinki, Tallinn, Riga, Vilnius, Kiev, Chișinău, Bucharest, Sofia, Athens, Ankara and Nicosia time)

That is 10 PM FEET (Minsk time)

And, finally, 11 PM Moscow time.

For the listeners in America this means 2 PM EST, 1 PM CST, 12 PM MST and 11 AM PST.

For the listeners in Australia, this means September 14, 2 AM (AWST) in West Australia and 4 AM AEST. (times adjusted in accordance with DST both for Europe and America)

SHOW PAGE

Recommended Content

Skip to toolbar